You don’t have to live in a cabin to get the fever

At first the idea of no longer having a jam-packed schedule with 12 hour days was revolutionary. Now, it’s more of a cruel curse than a blessing.

It’s been nearly a month of my post grad life and I have Bravo, Lifetime movies and the beach to thank for my sources of entertainment. Although I’m more bronze and better researched on all of the Real Housewives shows, I can’t help but become a little stir crazy.

How do post grads deal with such cabin fever? Here is a list of ways to dedicate your time:

  • An obvious must; job search! Dedicate a large chunk of your time every day to research postings and use my blogroll as a source to find listings (I dedicate at least two hours every day to the relentless hunt)
  • Improve your resume and cater different cover letters to different job listings
  • Attend networking events; PRSSA has great events for members
  • Volunteer! I have such a heart for non-profits and hope to work for one in my career. Volunteer Match is a great source to research opportunities that include your interests.
  • Get a part-time job! During college I was a swim instructor and still have the opportunity to pick up shifts. I also got another part-time job hostessing at a local restaurant- your savings account will thank you later.
  • Schedule meetings with mentors and grab lunch with prior colleagues. Remember that being intentional and maintaining your network is a professional must and is super accessible now with a free schedule!
Leave a Reply

